• The Creator Rep
  • Posts
  • Life as a Micro-Influencer w/ Scott Narver, ScottVsBox - Creator Rep Rundown

Life as a Micro-Influencer w/ Scott Narver, ScottVsBox - Creator Rep Rundown

Welcome to the second 'The Creator Rep' weekend edition called 'The Creator Rep Rundown', where I ask five essential questions to creator economy experts. This week: micro-influencer, actor, and multi-faceted creator Scott Narver, host of the unboxing channel Scott Vs Box.

Thanks for reading the weekend edition!

You can think of it like that Vogue series with 68 less questions.

You can watch the full 10-minute chat here or read the transcript below:

Learn from investing legends

Warren Buffett reads for 8 hours a day. What if you only have 5 minutes a day? Then, read Value Investor Daily. We scour the portfolios of top value investors and bring you all their best ideas.

Phil Ranta

Hey! It's Phil Ranta with The Creator Rep podcast and I am so excited for this guest this time because it's somebody who I've been working with for a lot of years. Scott Narver, please introduce yourself to the audience.

Scott Narver

I am Scott Narver. I've been creating stuff for a long time of doing ScottVsBox on YouTube for 13 years. I've been podcasting, doing wrestling stuff, doing interviews and comedy things in the world of professional wrestling for a long time and performer and even in a movie once ‘Dave Made a Maze’. So I'm always trying to create and do stuff.

Phil Ranta

82,000 subscribers, 34 million views, and it's mostly toy and pop culture unboxing, right? Well, thank you so much for agreeing to do the five question gauntlet. Let's jump right into it. Question number one. Do you think most creators need a representative?

Scott Narver

I think at some point, yes, they do. Whether creators have, you know, I don't think you can teach the creator to have the enthusiasm or the drive, but once they start doing it and creating on a regular basis and they want to do that, I think at any point to get to another level, if it's business minded, if they want this to be a full -time job, if they want to make a living at it, something.

I think a rep is important if you ever want to take it to another level. If you like doing it just for having fun and just posting it for your friends or having a good time for you, no. But I think if you want to take it to another level, it is necessary at some point to see if they can help you take you to that next level.

Phil Ranta

That's always the goal. Question number two, what is the biggest challenge creators are facing right now that a rep could help with?

Scott Narver

I think the biggest challenge that a rep could help with for creators right now is when it comes to monetization and comes to everything's divided, you know, there's different algorithms changing on a constant basis. There's always different ways of like, this is what feeds into an audience right now. This is how your stuff is seen.

I think that's the biggest challenge is how do you keep everything steady that your audience always sees you and nothing changes internally. So you don't lose out on your monetization. You don't lose out in your living by your audience, having something change internally in a system and they don't know where your stuff goes. For example, on TikTok, I've seen creators get comments and responding to videos and saying stuff like, I follow you and your stuff doesn't come up in my feed. So things like that.

Phil Ranta

Makes sense. Yeah, my FYP has totally 86'd a lot of people I subscribe to, so I feel that one deeply. What is the biggest opportunity for creators right now?

Scott Narver

I think the biggest opportunity is that while there are many platforms and there are many other avenues to go across, like I didn't touch TikTok for a long time. I, I was on YouTube and I decided to try TikTok and that is just open up another avenue of being able to do different styles of content. and have the reach a different audience that wasn't going to see me on YouTube or maybe they grew up and they were off YouTube. So.

I think as many platforms as there are, as many avenues that you can take, that is also really great because it will open you up to new ideas and open you up to a new audience.

Phil Ranta

I love it. And I've loved your Toy Fair stuff that you've been doing on your TikTok too, which is very different from Scott Vs Box but really, really effective. You know?

Scott Narver

Yeah, it's something I'm now interested in doing and I just did it just on a whim and thought, do people show off stuff like this at a fair? Well, I'd like to see this. So, tried it.

Phil Ranta

So Scott, who's your favorite creator right now and why?

Scott Narver

My favorite creator right now, I don't think it's changed in all the time that I got into all this. I think it's James Rolfe. It's the Angry Video Game Nerd. I love everything he does as the nerd. I love those videos. They're so funny. I love the movie references. I love all the video game stuff. I love that he continues to do it. I love that he teased like, I'm gonna quit and I'll never do it again. And there's no more bad video games. That's always been entertaining. It's been inspiring.

Because he puts together such good stuff. But then on top of that, how three -dimensional he is, that he will say to his audience that he is James Rolfe and that he has a family and he will share stuff about him being a filmmaker. He will, you know, he made a movie. Like he just opens up the rest of himself to the audience if they want to participate, you know, with the movie reviews and all the other stuff and talk about his life.

And if you don't want it, it's not, you know, you can just go to the nerd stuff, but that he's willing to do that. Cause that's something that I've never really done. I just kind of podcast and stuff. I'll talk about myself a little bit, but for Scott vs box, I just go by Scott vs Box. I don't say that I'm Scott Narver. So that's another facet to him beyond just being wildly entertaining and so endearing. Like I, he is a big inspiration.

Phil Ranta

Well you got a lot of OG cred for that one. I think that a lot of people from the current generation probably don't know who he is, but he's still pulling incredible views from people of our generation. So I love that answer. I swear I'm not fishing on this one, but I gotta ask it. Who is your favorite crater representative right now and why?

Scott Narver

You know, I haven't worked with a lot of people. I've, you know, here and there I've worked with some, but when all this started, it was you buddy. We were living together at the time and you talked about like all things YouTube and that it was like an avenue of something that we were performing and doing shows and stuff that it was something that was available and we just talked about it and then you were very much…you’re why I've done any of this stuff on YouTube is because you're like, you can do it. It'd be fun.

And we talked about ideas of what an unboxing show would be and you helped open up so many doors and avenues and were an advocate for me. And, because you're my friend and because you believed in me, I, no one else has been that.

So it's you. I miss those days to be sure. But yeah, it was you and me in the beginning.

Phil Ranta

Well I'm sorry to hear that I'm the best that you've had, but also flattered and thank you for that. Scott, if people want to find you, where can they go?

Scott Narver

You can find me at YouTube at youtube.com/ScottvsBox if you don't have the time for that youtube.com/SVB social media @ScottNarver and then also @ScottVsBox into a pro wrestling podcast Pro Wrestling Palskies, it's available wherever you listen to your Podcasts and on your mark was a show I did that's kind of like 'Between Two Ferns' for wrestling. Talk of something returning in the future, but that's a youtube.com/onyourmarkshow

I wrote for that and then I'm in it as well. And then also I'm in the movie, Dave Made a Maze. So you can check that out and that's available wherever movies are. So it's good watch.

Phil Ranta

A true performer. Many things to pitch. Well, thank you so much for surviving the gauntlet, Scott, and I appreciate you joining The Creator Rep.

Scott Narver

Thanks for having me.

Thank you for reading! If you enjoyed this edition, give it a share and if you get someone to sign up, I’ll send you my ‘10 Rep-Friendly Ways to Monetize Today!’ deck!

Until next time, protect yo rep.

 

Learn from investing legends

Warren Buffett reads for 8 hours a day. What if you only have 5 minutes a day? Then, read Value Investor Daily. We scour the portfolios of top value investors and bring you all their best ideas.